Word of the day for Thursday, June 15th

My somethingth high school reunion is coming up next week, and while I’ve decided not to go, the occasion has obviously dredged up a lot of memories. Mostly bad ones. The terrible job I did as yearbook co-editor (yes, there were line drawings in the yearbook that year). Slighting people that considered me a friend. Being left in a dangerous position with a bad outcome by people I considered friends. Transferring into a class just so I could be lab partners with a boy I had a crush on, and doing really badly in that class as a result. Lying to a trusted teacher. And of course, getting in some serious trouble with the law as a result of following somebody I thought was a real cool genius who I only much later figured out was an

ultracrepidarian, when he stated with authority that the moon was about 5,000 miles away from the Earth. Ultracrepidarian: one who is presumptuous and offers advice or opinions beyond one’s sphere of knowledge.

I actually have a good excuse regarding scheduling for why I’m not going to this reunion, but the fact is that I’m too scared to re-enter that environment and potentially discover that I haven’t really grown up that much from the dumb kid I was so long ago. Oh well. At least I know that the moon isn’t 5,000 miles away.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://fancynotions.wordpress.com/2017/06/15/word-of-the-day-for-thursday-june-15th/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I am officially super sad that you’re not coming. I was looking forward to seeing you! 😢
    And yet, I totally get it. I’m nervous, too. 😘

    • Thanks, friend. I will miss you too. I’ll make a point to bug you when I’m up there next.


Leave a Reply

