Your vote counts, but has to use its fingers

Don’t worry; I’m not going to talk about the US presidential race. I could barely handle all the “fuck you”s that my unflattering Jollibee post engendered years ago, so there’s no way I’m going to take on something as obviously volatile as this year’s contest for the Oval Office. Instead, I’d like to take a moment to shine a light on some candidates for the US Senate that my fine state of California has on its ballot this year. If you’re like me, you know that these lower-ticket races are just as important as the big one, but there aren’t any Facebook memes about these candidates so you actually have to do a little homework to know who to vote for.

The big thing to know is that there are 34 aspirants vying for one seat. That is a pretty big field to get through. Thankfully, thirteen of those candidates couldn’t handle submitting candidate statements, so I will eliminate those guys right off the bat. As for the remaining 21, I am happy to say that the spectrum of opinions presented is wide indeed. Here are some of my favorites.

There’s the 70-year-old Eagle Scout:

IMG_7355

the alarm clock:

IMG_7343

the mysterious acronym enthusiast:

IMG_7351

the mainstream Facebook president with driving core values:

IMG_7347

the Christian who actually seems to embody good, decent values and somehow that’s very confusing to me in this day and age:

IMG_7357

the … okay, this guy can go suck it with his Andrew Jackson nonsense:

IMG_7349

the only candidate willing to speak up about mind control slavery (tl;dr: she is against it):

IMG_7356

a beautiful video game unicorn:

IMG_7341

and the guy I’m probably voting for:

IMG_7354

So many different voices, almost too many choices! It’s such a breath of fresh air, isn’t it? I’m sure I’ll find someone who speaks for me. And you 13 who couldn’t turn in a statement? Try harder next time.

You can click on any photo to enlarge the image for ease of reading, or don’t. It doesn’t really matter.

 

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://fancynotions.wordpress.com/2016/05/09/your-vote-counts-but-has-to-use-its-fingers/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

