Post-trip script

As usual, there were a few photos from our trip that didn’t fit neatly into other posts. I’m starting to feel like the person who shares way too many vacation slides after inviting friends over to dinner; I’ll understand if you slip away before dessert.

Three blues brothers in Rock Island, Illinois waiting

bluesbros
for a breakfast place to open. They will be waiting for a long time.

alarming
Jack.

jack
An excellent D & D-themed park in Carbondale, Illinois. More photos starting here.

d-n-dpark
A future water tower from the past when they had better aesthetics for the future. We stayed in a cabin close by and I got menaced by a gang of raccoons when I tried to take a photo of them raiding the dumpster.

retrofutureh2o
An elephant’s grave in Oquawka. A rather sad tale.

normajeanwide
An otherwise rather boring mall in Hazelwood, Missouri. I was expecting more from the area labeled “Circus Of Fire.” More photos starting here.

circusoffire
One of many lies in Hannibal, Missouri. A place that seems to be rebranding itself as the Steampunk Capital of the US. I’m not sure what that is about unless it has something to do with that Rush song.

tomsawyer
One of my favorite misspellings outside a bar in Keokuk.

cheif
A mysterious kingdom in Tennessee.

hencethename
A sign in Memphis that I would have liked to have seen at night.

radiator
Lisa Marie’s toy, which I hope has good memories attached to it.

lisamarietoy
Miss Ann’s, which shared a parking lot with

missanns
these braggarts.

hotdogs
I saw this after I bought some nose spray someplace.

mysteryman
The Frog Farm was an excellent place; we bought a small wooden alligator from the artist Louise Cadney Coleman. I wanted to buy an enormous driftwood peacock but couldn’t figure out how I was going to get that back home. More photos starting here.

frogfarmcafe
The Britney Spears Museum in Kentwood, Louisiana seems to be closed but there is a pretty neat ghostly mural on the wall of the video bingo place.

mrstains
ghost

satchmomural
I kept wanting to get my hair cut and maybe fashioned into a fancy ‘do at various places on the road, but I kept chickening out. I would have gone here but it was closed.

glamourcoif
Abita Mystery House, which really must be seen to be appreciated fully. More photos starting here.

abitamystery
And then some random New Orleans things.

achoo

pigshaker

walkoffame

margeThere was a lot more. Cats and canoes, tiaras and MG conventions, miserable food at a diner where they kept trying to get us to go to the place next door instead, a delicious bag of apples. Maybe you should do this trip yourself some time.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://fancynotions.wordpress.com/2015/09/24/post-trip-script/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

