Old time relijun

We’ve made our way to New Orleans. Primary stops today were the St. Roch Cemetery and the Voodoo Museum.

St. Roch has an area where people pray for healing of hearts and feet and eyes

strochefeet
and such,

danto
show proof of past healings by offering braces and casts that are no longer needed,

braces
and give thanks for the healing.

thankshead

poodlemerci

infantofprague
Pretty straightforward. I didn’t believe it, but it seemed innocuous enough. Throw a battery in the vestibule and maybe you won’t have to recharge your phone as much. Maybe, maybe not. Whatever.

A strange thing happened when I got to the Voodoo Museum, however.

teethguy
I had a couple of dimes in my hand, ready to toss them someplace as an offering, when I got nervous.

cowskull
Despite the helpful placards, I realized that I had no idea what any of this stuff really meant.

rougarou
I knew there were some pretty bad spirits, and I had no idea who was who around here. Furthermore, I heard that the spirits weren’t too keen on penny offerings, so who was to say if a dime was going to be a good thing or a bad thing?

marielaveau
Ultimately, it didn’t seem like a thing I should be messing with if I had so little understanding.

darkshrine
I guess, for all my detached observances on this blog, I really am a superstitious person.

laveauobamaOr maybe I’ve just convinced myself of that because I’m a cheapskate who doesn’t want to throw away twenty cents.

 

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://fancynotions.wordpress.com/2015/09/20/old-time-relijun/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. These images are awesome. I’m off to New Orleans ASAP. Good stuff man

  2. […] Old time relijun […]


Leave a Reply

