Bunnyburied

This post isn’t about that front yard in Glendale with all the bunnies, the place I like to call Bunnybury. This post is about The Bunny Museum in Pasadena, a place I have wanted to go to for a long time. It’s been in the Guinness Book of World Records, Ripley’s Believe It Or Not, and amongst other luminaries, Huell Howser has visited; it’s a famous place. This weekend I finally went there.

And I don’t know. It was all a little much for me. I wasn’t prepared to be surrounded by so much bunny, I guess. Frankly, I was worried I was going to be trapped alive and at certain points I actually got lightheaded. If you have claustrophobia or you grew up in a hoarder household, this might not be the place for you. If you don’t have these issues, then by all means go visit the Bunny Museum.

There were some specific themes as you flowed through the rooms that I picked up on despite my incapacitated state. This place could have used more of a curatorial/editorial eye for me, but damn it, it sure was organized. There was the salt and pepper nook (sorry for some of these being blurry; like I said, it was all a little much for me and so there were times my motor skills kind of failed):

bunnysaltandpepper
There were remnants of a baby bunny souvenir:

bunnypackage
remnants of a non-baby bunny loved one:

bunnyhoney
remnants of a non-baby bunny non-loved one, encrusted with pearls:

pearlbunny
then a complete pearl bunny suit:

pearlybunny
more bunny suits:

bunnysuited
a different kind of bunny suit:

bunnysuit
and then we were in the kitchen:

bunnydrawings
where there were tons more bunnies, including a baby Flemish Giant that was the size of a Jack Russell terrier.

bunnygiant
Yeah, these photos don’t really capture the feeling of being surrounded by over 30,000 bunnies. Maybe if I had used a wide-angle lens and stood on a ladder in the corner, I could have captured that feeling. Or maybe I would have fallen off the ladder into the bunny collection, never to be seen again.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://fancynotions.wordpress.com/2015/06/01/bunnyburied/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

