A fine red

Thank you, Ub Iwerks. Thank you so very much. I was watching this Little Red Hen cartoon this morning, soaking up the beautiful Comicolor hues, but I tensed up as soon as I saw the little black chick.

“Oh no,” thought I. “That little black chick seems fine right now, maybe naughty in a black sheep sort of way, but any minute now he’s going to wreck this cartoon. This is a ’30s cartoon. He’s going to get lazy and start wheedling around, grow offensive big lips and shout ‘Mammy’ while on one knee; something like that.”

I continued watching. That pig and that duck were maybe the best cartoon pig and duck I had ever seen. “Please don’t ruin this cartoon, Little Black Chick.” The final gag came up. The little black chick came out of the hen house. I pre-emptively winced.

And then. Nothing. No racial stereotype gag. Just a good old raspberry. I relaxed. Thank you, Little Black Chick, and thank you, Ub Iwerks. I’m going to have to watch this again, this time without holding my breath.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://fancynotions.wordpress.com/2015/05/02/a-fine-red/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

