An entry for the Bake-Off

Benny used to work in a Chinese restaurant in Oklahoma called the Fortune Cookie, and he learned how to make a really good fried rice there. He’s going to make some of this fried rice tonight, and I’m so excited that I started looking for an accompanying dish in this old Chinese cookbook that some exiled Benedictine nuns compiled after WWII. I love this book, even though I haven’t tried making any of the recipes. The pictures are so great that I can never make up my mind about what I actually want to cook.

Behold the illustration for pork with tofu:

porktofu
Mushrooms with spinach (look how strong!):

spinachnmushrooms

Walnut bars (There are some other walnuts in the original illustration that are drinking coffee. If they’re at a bar shouldn’t they be drinking cocktails?):

walnuts
And the simply incredible sour cream pudding:

sourcreampudding
Ha! Look how old he is. Of course that cream is sour. Oh, but geez. It’s happened again. I can’t decide what to make. Maybe I’ll just try Benny’s recipe for Chinese Fry Bread. I think I posted about Chinese Fry Bread before but I didn’t include a formal recipe so here’s your chance to try it yourself. I don’t think the Fortune Cookie will get at me posting their secret recipe if I leave something out.

CHINESE FRY BREAD

  • 1 package Pillsbury® Buttermilk Biscuits
  • hot oil for deep fryer

Open biscuit package and cut the biscuits in half so that each biscuit is a semi-circle. Heat oil in a deep fryer to (redacted) degrees. Place biscuit semi-circles in hot oil and fry until golden brown, making sure the inside has been fully cooked or you will get sick from eating all that uncooked dough. Probably serve this with some beer.

Actually, I don’t even think the Fortune Cookie exists anymore, but it’s better to be safe than sorry when it comes to potential litigation.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://fancynotions.wordpress.com/2014/11/04/an-entry-for-the-bake-off/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Fortune Cookie is now a dildo and lingerie shop called Debbie’s Shoe Box or Slurprises or something like that.


Leave a Reply

