Here we go round the mulberry tree

I don’t think I’ve been to the Norton Simon Museum in Pasadena since I was in college for the first time; I guess I should really go back, because the thing I remember best about the museum is something that may not be true at all. What I remember is that as soon as I entered the museum, I had to go down a flight of stairs, and as soon as I went down that first flight of stairs, boop there was Van Gogh’s painting The Mulberry Tree, and it wasn’t under glass or anything. I looked at that thing from as many angles as I could and was amazed at how thick the paint was, how fat and spiky and three-dimensional the painting was. I couldn’t tear myself away from it for some time.

Now, this can’t be true, can it? They can’t have The Mulberry Tree on display without some sort of protective covering, right? People would be trying to poke at that thing all day. I really should go back and check that out.

In the meantime, if you want to check out a pretty nice oil painting that you can poke at all you want, just to to the south side of Santa Monica Blvd. at Edgemont. You’ll find this lady:

edgemontoillady
She’s really much nicer than this photo makes her out to be; I was trying to show the thickness of the paint. Anyway, if you want to see her you should go there pretty soon. I hear we’re going to get some rain and thunder and tornadoes and things tomorrow, and she probably won’t last.

Published in: on February 27, 2014 at 4:58 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://fancynotions.wordpress.com/2014/02/27/here-we-go-round-the-mulberry-tree/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

