Take on a regal aspect

I got a very interesting book this weekend entitled The Art of Serving Food Attractively by Mary Albert Wenker. I thought it might provide me with a quick and easy idea to spruce up the presentation of some creamed onions I’m going to make for Thanksgiving; after all, Mary Albert’s Rule #2 of Garnishing is “Beauty is obtained through simplicity. Garnishes should appear natural, fresh and dainty – never overworked or overdone.” Well. Let’s see what we have here.

oeufsahoy
An egg boat. Hey, that could be cute. A little egg boat floating on a sea of creamed onions? I don’t know. I don’t think anybody would be able to guess that it’s supposed to be an egg boat. Here’s one I could handle:

cucumbegg
Four cucumber slices crammed into a hard-boiled egg. I could definitely pull that one off, but why?

meatpinwheel
Meat pinwheel. That’s just asking for ridicule. Next.

cukecarousel
This one would be good if I were making some sort of vertical meatloaf that was supposed to represent a burning building, and I could have cucumber slices jumping out of the windows onto the lemon slice held up by the other cucumber slices. I could even make little pimiento firehats for the cucumber slices holding up the lemon slice. Or perhaps that is too overworked and overwrought.

turkey
Ooh, look at that little guy! A little turkey. Let’s see – pear halves, cream cheese, graham cracker crumbs, pineapple slice, red-skinned apple slice, cherry and a date. I don’t think that is going to work with creamed onions.

Pickle boats. Turnip stars. Beet cups. Pear airplane. Tomato cheese rose. Troutlettes. Cucumber linked chain. Ugh… I think I need to go to bed. Oh look – ideas for bed trays. Maybe Benny will bring me a gumdrop-pipecleaner pilgrim while I recover.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://fancynotions.wordpress.com/2013/11/20/take-on-a-regal-aspect/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. […] seems I’ve found a fancy dish more questionable and double-entendre-sounding than meat pinwheels. Ladies and gentlemen, meet the helmeted […]


Leave a Reply

