Etiquette & superstition: college

I will be going back to school in a couple of weeks, in the attempts of completing a long-dormant degree. It’s been a while since I’ve been in school; I’m not sure if the kids still wear raccoon coats and straw hats or what the deal is. Maybe I’ll bring my ukelele along just in case somebody invites me on a joyride in their Huppmobile.

ETIQUETTE: My first clue that I have been somewhat out of the loop in terms of college etiquette was the information I’ve found online indicating that laptops are not universally accepted in the classroom and that the instructor will indicate his/her preference regarding same on the first day. When I first went to college, there was no such thing as a laptop computer, but I had assumed that in this day and age they were what one used to take notes; in the recent film Spring Breakers, the one scene in the classroom showed everybody with a laptop. I guess I shouldn’t be looking to Spring Breakers for tips on proper behavior.

SUPERSTITION: Though for the life of me I can’t remember one associated with my alma mater, most every college or university has at least one campus superstition. Avoid that cupola, kiss that shoe, or look for that albino squirrel if you want to graduate or just get a good grade on that test. My favorite so far, however, is the elusive glittery “disco tray” found in the cafeteria of Hendrix University. If one of these shows up when it’s your turn in line, you are in for some good fortune. This good fortune, however, doesn’t seem to be specified; maybe it means you’ll make the Dean’s List, maybe you’ll just find some pistachio pudding in the dessert area. Lucky day!

Photo by The Happy Rower on Flickr

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://fancynotions.wordpress.com/2013/08/20/etiquette-superstition-college/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

