A real tasty wagon

When I was in junior high, our school put on a production of the musical Grease. It being a junior high production of a play that featured a lot of profanity and a pregnancy scare plot point, there were a lot of changes that had to be made by our advisor Mr. Smith. Because I was cast as Miss Lynch, the “no-nonsense, serious, loud English teacher,” I wasn’t affected much, but Rizzo and Danny were particularly upset when lyric changes were watered down and showcase ballads were cut for propriety’s sake. “I swear my mom won’t care if I sing ‘pussy wagon,’ Mr. Smith. I SWEAR.”

It seems that a lot of other junior high schools had similar issues, and Samuel French now has a “school version” of the play.  I wonder how Mr. Smith’s version stacked up to this one.

I was reminded of all of this because last night we took Benny’s kids to an outdoor screening of the film version of Grease, and I was a little concerned with the jokes about the broken rubbers etc., but they did not seemed concerned. They were more interested in the ice cream truck parked on the side of the screen, and I must admit that it had a very nice hot rod painted on the side.

icedlightning
Unfortunately, it looked like it lost the LA River race to a banana split.

thunderroad
Better luck next time, Iced Lightning.

 

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://fancynotions.wordpress.com/2013/07/11/a-real-tasty-wagon/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

