So on and so fourth

Benny and I are going to celebrate Independence Day tomorrow in the traditional way, barbecuing with friends and watching fireworks. Because we are celebrating in the traditional way, I think I am also going to start a new tradition of ignoring Facebook on this and all holidays.

Lately, holidays on Facebook seem to be filled with hyperbolic status updates like “My mother farts flowers and she is my bestest friend” or “If you’re walking around in your white shoes stuffing your face with hot dogs instead of meditating deeply about the war dead all day, I am going to punch you in the nards” or “STOP TRIVIALIZING FLAG DAY.” Okay, actually Flag Day was pretty tolerable this year. But the others are so full of … I don’t know what. Post an anecdote of patriotic loved ones, tell your mom you love her, great; but don’t make this into a competition and don’t tell me what to do. Tomorrow I’m going to eat a goddamn hot dog, watch some fireworks, and not feel guilty about it. It’s Independence Day.

But what kind of goddamn hot dog? That’s a very good question. I have my trusty Better Homes & Gardens Barbecues and Picnics book right here, and wouldn’t you know it? There is a chapter devoted to “fancy franks and burgers.” Let’s see here; Nutty Pups?

Nutty Pups

A new favorite for all ages –

Broil franks to suit yourself. Serve in hot toasted buns spread with chunk-style peanut butter. Great when made with Frank Wrap-ups. Pass pickle relish.

I don’t believe I will. Let’s try again.

Circle Pups

1 1-pound can (2 cups) sauerkraut1 tablespoon flour
1 teaspoon sage
1 pound (8 to 10) frankfurters*
8 to 10 slices rye bread, buttered
Prepared mustard

Drain kraut, reserving 1/2 cup juice. Mix flour, sage, and reserved juice; stir into the drained kraut. Heat and stir till mixture thickens. At 1/2-inch intervals, cut slits across franks, going almost but not quite through. Broil franks over hot coals until hot through – they’ll curl as they cook. Place franks on bread; fill center with hot kraut; top with mustard.

I think this is the winner. Here is a picture of the Circle Pups:

circlepups3
And there you have it. Oh wait – I forgot the asterisked note about the frankfurters. That’s the best part.

*If using the chubby dinner-size franks, count on 2 to make each circle. Curve on bread making ends touch.

I love living in a free country.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://fancynotions.wordpress.com/2013/07/03/so-on-and-so-fourth/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

