Word of the day for Thursday, November 3rd

I know it’s late, but I have to tell you something. I stole something once. It was a box of attelets.

Create text onlineAn attelet is a kind of fancy toothpick, one that has some sort of frou-frou or hoo-haw or ding-a-ling on the top. And I stole a whole box of them once.

I couldn’t help it. I was very young (I don’t remember how young, exactly, but young enough to jam myself in between the frame of the sofa and the sofabed if I took the cushions off), and I was at the grocery store checkout counter and there was this clear acrylic box full of multi-colored playing card suit-themed attelets staring right at me where all the gum and candy and stuff I usually ignored was. I took the box of attelets.

When I got home, I realized that if I didn’t hide them, my mom would find them and realize that she hadn’t bought this box of attelets and I would be in trouble. Not like being spanked trouble, just my mom would be disappointed in me trouble.

And I hated when my mom was disappointed in me.

So I hid the box of attelets in the sofabed.

For a long time I worried about what would happen if we had a guest come to stay the night and sleep in the sofabed, but we never really had guests that stayed the night so at a certain point I stopped worrying.

I am not sure what happened to the box of attelets.

Published in: on November 3, 2011 at 9:03 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://fancynotions.wordpress.com/2011/11/03/word-of-the-day-for-thursday-november-3rd/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

