Etiquette & superstition: the telephone


I hate the telephone. I like emails. I hate instant messaging. I like text messages. I can’t get a handle on tweets yet. Tweets seem like smoke signals to me. And I don’t know how I feel about smoke signals.

ETIQUETTE: Oh, telephone. So old, but always trying to fit in with the young stuff. What is that called – mutton dressed as lamb? Angelyne? Oh, telephone. No matter how young and fluid you try to present yourself, there are going to be some rules about your use that are as stiff as your old, arthritic joints. The two main things to remember with phone etiquette are that 1) you should keep your voice down, and 2) phone conversations must take a back seat to interactions you are having with people in the real world. If you don’t know what I mean by “real world,” you should get off the phone immediately.

SUPERSTITION: If you are a telephone salesman, you should tie three coins together with a red ribbon and keep them by your phone. This will increase sales.

Photo by Leo Reynolds via Flickr

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://fancynotions.wordpress.com/2011/06/01/etiquette-superstition-the-telephone/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

