Word of the day for Wednesday, June 10th

Today’s word is actually a compound onomatopoeia. It is my favorite onomatopoeia, I think. I have known this onomatopoeia since I was a small child. It is:

SNAP PLOOBADOOF. This is the noise that Wonder Woman’s bra makes when she takes it off. Sometimes I do confuse this with “FLABADAP,” but that is of course the noise Rapunzel’s hair makes when she unfurls it. I’d like to thank Doug Gilford for finally making a dictionary of Don Martin’s onomotopoeiae (is that correct? I went to California public schools) as found in Mad Magazine. If you want to know the meaning of:

  • ZAT (one of my earliest cartoon memories, thank you; I believe I was four years old when I first encountered this word)
  • POiT
  • SHIF-SHAF SHABAMP MAMP SHOMPAH-BOMBAH DIMPAH MIMPAH FOMP-DABOMP! GADIFF-GADIFF GADAFF GADAFF GASMITCH GASMATCH KABOFF FAPADDA DAPADDA SWIPADDA DIPADDA FAP SPMAP GAMOP

you should just go to Doug’s site. Well done, sir.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://fancynotions.wordpress.com/2009/06/10/word-of-the-day-for-wednesday-june-10th/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

